• The Smarter Balanced Assessment System utilizes computer-adaptive tests and performance tasks that allow students to show what they know and are able to do. This system is based on the Common Core State Standards (CCSS) for English language arts/literacy (ELA) and mathematics.

    The Smarter Balanced Assessment System has three components designed to support teaching and learning throughout the year: the Summative Assessments, the Interim Assessments, and the Digital Library. The Smarter Balanced Assessment System Graphic (PDF) and video display the relationship between these components, the CCSS, and college and career readiness.

Smarter Balanced Assessments Information

  • This video provides information to students about the Smarter Balanced Summative Assessments.  The video introduces students to the summative assessments and explains the purpose of these assessments.

    (Click here to access the video in Spanish.)


Smarter Balanced Parents Factsheet

Smarter Balanced Practice and Training Tests

  • Click on the link below to access both the Practice and Training Tests portal. The Practice Tests provide students with grade-specific testing experiences that are similar in structure and format to the Summative Assessments. The Training Tests provide students with the opportunity to quickly become familiar with the software and interface features. The Training Tests are organized by grade-bands (e.g., 3–5). 

      Summative Assessment – Start a Training Test
      Summative Assessment – Start a Practice Test

Parent Guide to the Smarter Balanced Summative Assessments: Overview and Sample Questions